Hung’s World

Mussels Singapore Style

Picture courtesy Taste.com.au
Picture courtesy Taste.com.au

 

Now here is a story behind a recipe that happened to me about 10 years or so ago. One day I came home from work and I never went back. After years of excessive work hours and stress I decided I’d had enough. Our bills were all paid and our boys were working and the wonderful Tutu who was working part time did a few extra shifts to get us by while I had a bit of a breather.

To keep my brain active I enrolled in TAFE to study food technology. Now you all know I am not a morning person so as usual I was a bit late on the first day and when I walked into the classroom there was only one chair left next to this charming looking Asian woman.

At the next break she introduced herself as Jasmin and from that moment forward Jasmin and I became friends. We sat with each other, studied together and when we did field visits she always came with me. I would always help Jasmin with her class work and give her some pointers with assignments but she did the work herself. Most of the problems for her were simply language, mainly colloquialisms. See back in Singapore Jasmin was wealthy, no extremely wealthy, her husband was a multimillionaire. Both of her boys had been accepted into the local university so she followed to keep an eye on them and enrolled in the same course as me to keep her brain active.

One day she attended school and asked if I could help with her homework. I had to make it clear to Jasmin that I was a student not a teacher and that I couldn’t do the work for her. She understood perfectly and when I read her papers I realised this was one very bright woman, so I helped her. She asked me why I would always have a cheese and ham sandwich. I told her, they are easy to make and portable. Jasmin told me not to bring lunch tomorrow and from that day on she fed me lunch everyday Singapore style and man it was amazing, prawn dumplings being my favourite just ahead of curried chicken and noodle.

At the end of the year Jasmin told me she was returning home. She was home sick and the boys were doing fine. She shouted me this meal at a Singaporean restaurant in town as a farewell gift.

Ingredients

Mussels – the chef did 24 per serve

Bland oil

Garlic

Chilli

Prawn paste – belacan

Tomatoes finely chopped

Beer

Crusty bread

Method

Heat oil in a wok. Don’t use oil with flavour, canola is best. Saute garlic, chilli and prawn paste then tomatoes. Add beer, I would use light beer, lets face it it’s not worth drinking. Let it reduce then add mussels. Put lid on and using pot holders give it all a good toss so that everything mixes. Steam for 5 to 7 minutes. Discard any mussels that do not open and plate up. Drizzle mussels with sauce and serve with crusty bread.

Serve this dish with beer not wine and it is okay to soak up the sauce with the bread. Jasmin made sure the beers kept coming and I got through and another round or two of mussels. Jasmin’s chauffeur drove me home and for years after we kept in contact by email. Unfortunately my computer crashed and I lost her email address. But doesn’t matter, it was a fantastic year, a fantastic friendship from two very different people and I will never forget her. The other pleasing thing is I know that somewhere in Singapore someone will no how to say “fair dinkum mate”.

 


Comments

10 responses to “Mussels Singapore Style”

  1. Hung One On Avatar
    Hung One On

    Yes. In my haste I did leave out a step about beards

    To remove mussel beards Step 1: place mussels in a large bowl. Cover with cold water. Swish them around to remove grit from shells. Step 2: Remove mussels, one at a time, hold in one had. Using free hand, grab the beard (clump of hairs) and sharply tug down to remove. Transfer cleaned mussel shells to a fresh bowl of water.

    Sorry for any inconvenience.

    Like

    1. Sounds like something the three stooges would get up to.

      Like

  2. Googlehoover Avatar
    Googlehoover

    Big mussel fan, me.

    Had a big bowl of Green Lip Mussels at The Fountains in Glebe the other day. Mussels were a little tough but the spicy tomato broth they came in was fantastic, soaked up with sour dough. Had to ask the chef for some to take away broth in a doggy bottle. Obliging chap obliged. Even agreed that the mussels weren’t as good as they should have been. Wonders never cease.

    I’ll try this recipe HOO and report back.

    After to above meal I visited Gleebooks. (What are we going to do when all the great bookshops close down?)

    There at the counter was a book with a picture of Tony Abbot on the cover. I managed to strangle an involuntary urge to toss the above meal and told the woman serving me that any such publication should come with a mental health warning or at least a dose of Stemitil. She said that, in this case, the book was full of jokes at Big Ears expense. (Well, what other kind of book could possibly be written about the bat eared bastard?)

    I said that he should be taken down the back paddock and kicked to death, preferably three of four times. The violence of my suggestion and the vehemence with which I put it took her aback. She said it would be enough for her should he simply be thrown out out of the leadership.

    “For who?” I countered.

    “Turnbull perhaps” she said, unconvinced by her own suggestion.

    I let go a big wet raspberry on the whole political caste.

    The woman behind me then arced up. She offered the best deconstruction of the past seven years I’ve heard or read anywhere, starting with Penny Wong’s grossly arrogant mishandling of Turnbull’s offer for bipartisanship on the Carbon and Resource Taxes, which in this woman’s thesis where responsible for Minchin’s knifing of The Patrician and the rise of the risible Worry from Warringah.

    Gillard and Rudd came in for detailed scarification too.

    She closed with an open question as to whom we should turn for succour.

    The woman behind the counter was simply gobsmacked, and I was still getting over the brilliance of her condensed little diatribe. I’ve never heard so much responsibility slated to so many named politicians from all sides in such a short but pithy and piquant put down.

    All I could answer, lamely, was “Beats the shit outa me!”

    And now that I’ve had a chance to think about it, it still beats the shit outa me.

    Perhaps we should pick our politicians by how well they can prepare a bowl of mussels. We couldn’t do any worse than we have recently and maybe HOO would end up Prime Minister.

    Who among us wouldn’t vote that ticket?

    Like

    1. Hung One On Avatar
      Hung One On

      May your mussels be tender GH

      Like

    2. vivienne29 Avatar
      vivienne29

      Well I do know one thing – Tony Abbott can’t cook, neither can Pyne and J Bishop pretends she can. Pretty well all of the Kitchen Cabinet encounters with Libs were sparse, assisted by others and about as appetising as cold gluggy pasta with shit for sauce.

      Like

      1. Hung One On Avatar
        Hung One On

        They’re good at lying Viv

        Like

  3. Thanks for the recipe, Hung. Great story of friendship, plus, the penultimate fact…the beers kept coming. My kind of story!

    When we were in Italy we had plenty of seafood meals that involved cockles, mussels, prawns, baby octopus, squid and various fish. Sometimes all together in a tomato sauce, or on a pizza. Bloody lovely!

    Like

    1. Hung One On Avatar
      Hung One On

      When in Qld recently M we had a crab and chilli pizza, very nice.

      Like

  4. vivienne29 Avatar
    vivienne29

    Excellent Hung. Recently on the tele there have been a number of pieces on mussel farming and asking the question why don’t Australian eat more. Apparently it is only 125 grams per person per year. I grew up when we could gather our own mussel around the bay near Melbourne. We’d come home with two huge buckets full, grandma would cook them and I had the job of pulling the beards out (after they were cooked) and we at them plain with cold beer. I love a good sauce and do much the same myself and always have the crusty bread. I got into the sauce versions when I had them at Beppi’s in Sydney in 1972.

    A lovely story of your friendship. Food is a world language.

    Like

    1. Hung One On Avatar
      Hung One On

      Thank you Viv. It sounds like a good memory.

      Like

Leave a comment